Ride Safe USA 1-877-585-2453
As of July 1, 2008 all riders in the State of Florida must successfully complete the MSF Basic Rider Course in order to obtain a Motorcycle Endorsement on their License.
When do I need a motorcycle endorsement?
If you wish to operate any two or three wheel motorcycle, whose engine is more than 50 cc, you are required to have a motorcycle endorsement on your driver license or a motorcycle-only license.
What are the Basic Rider Course (BRC) enrollment requirements?
You must hold at least a Learner's Driver License to enroll in the Basic Rider Course. Having a basic knowledge of traffic laws, road signs and general "road rules" is an important pre-curser to the rider course.
What are the requirements to obtain a motorcycle endorsement?
Hold at least a Class E operators license.
Complete the Basic Motorcycle Safety Course.
Go to a driver license office or tax collector office . Inform them that you completed the course. Upon providing proper ID and paying the required endorsement fees your license will be issued with a motorcycle endorsement.
Does my motorcycle endorsement expire?
No, the motorcycle endorsement is good for life. After successfully completing the BRC you may go to your local Driver License office and obtain your endorsement up to one (1) year of successful course completion.
What does getting a Motorcycle Only License require?
Be at least 16 years old, and if under 18, hold a Learner's License for one year with no traffic convictions.
Pass the same knowledge test as for a regular Class E operator's driver license.
You must complete the Basic Motorcycle Safety Course.
After you complete the course inform the DL or tax collectors office that you passed the course. Producing proper ID and paying the required endorsements fees, your license will be issued with a motorcycle endorsement. Your license will be restricted to operating "Motorcycles Only."
Must I wear a Helmet and Eye protection to ride a Motorcycle?
(FSS 316. ) Motorcycles: A person 21 or older may operate a motorcycle without a helmet if they carry proof of an insurance policy providing for at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries incurred as a result of a crash while operating or riding on a motorcycle; such as an HMO, Blue Cross or other health insurance card, or a separate motorcycle medical payments coverage policy card or policy declarations page. Those under 21 operating motorcycles or riding, as a passenger must wear a Department approved motorcycle helmet, s. 316.211(1) & (2), F.S.
Mopeds and motorcycles 50 cc or less, 2 brake horsepower or less, and cannot exceed more than 30 mph on level ground do not require helmet for the operator, passengers under 16 however are required to wear helmets; per s. 316.211.4, F.S.
Eye Protection: Anyone operating a motorcycle -as defined in s. 316.211(2), F.S., must wear eye protection
Some Facts To Know!
Is insurance required for motorcycles in Florida?
Under certain circumstances Yes. Insurance is not required to register motorcycles. However, if a motorcycle operator is charged in a crash with injuries, then the owner or owner/operator is financially responsible for bodily injuries and property damage to others. If no liability coverage was in effect, then bodily injury/property damage liability insurance must be purchased and kept for three years to avoid license and tag/registration suspension or to reinstate license and tag/registration after suspension.
What about motorcycle passenger insurance?
It is a good idea to ask your insurance carrier about the need for carrying passenger insurance coverage.
Is there a minimum age requirement for motorcycle passengers?
Florida law does not address a minimum age for passengers. However, other laws may apply such as endangering a minor.
Source: “Florida Rider Training Program Web-Site” & FSS Handbook